h1

Blackhawks In Town

November 15, 2007

The Predators continue their run against Central division foes as the Chicago Blackhawks come calling tonight. These rejuvenated Hawks are not the same team that has been a cellar dweller for many years. This is a team with young and exciting talent (Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews), veteran leadership (Robert Lang and Martin LaPointe) and a solid coach in Dennis Savard (a Blackhawk legend) are all working together to get this franchise back to where it should be.

Let me take a moment and say this. I am a long time hockey fan that grew up in Michigan loving the Red Wings and Flint Generals and I really appreciate the history of this game. I know what Chicago means to this game. I have spent some time recently on the message boards for the Hawks and I can see that these fans are passionate about their hockey and that the tradition runs deep. While I don’t necessarily root for the Hawks there is part of me, deep down, that is happy to see this franchise gain back some of it’s luster.

Okay…down from the soapbox.

The Hawks are coming off a 4-2 loss against the Blue jackets last night. Chances are we will see a rested Nikolai Khabibulin in net tonight who will be looking to avenge getting pulled from an earlier tilt with the Predators where he was pulled after giving up three goals on six shots. In the first meeting the Preds did a good job of limiting the young dynamic duo of Kane and Toews allowing them each only an assist in the game. These youngsters continue to get better and will test our D big time tonight.

While we don’t sport a young duo like the Hawks our line of Dumont, Arnott and Erat is on fire lately. I expect a close game that could go either way tonight. As with most division game I wouldn’t be surprised to see it get a bit chippy either.

This sale thing is getting on my nerves. I am going to try not to comment again until we actually KNOW something!

4 comments

  1. Who’s in goal tonight? Mason is playing well, but need to keep Ellis sharp. Trotzy might wait to play Dan in one of the home-homes against the Blues coming up?


  2. I have not yet heard who will start for the Preds. You are right that Ellis may need a spot start to stay sharp. Typically backups tend to work half of back to back games but the Preds do not face that until mid December. I would think Trotz would have to give Ellis a go tonight or Saturday night against the Blues.


  3. Yeah. I agree. Another factor I think could be Chicago. If Nikolai Khabibulin would have started last night in CBJ instead of Patrick Lalime then Savard would have likely went with Lalime tonight. Possibly promoting Trozty to play Ellis in a battle of #2 goalies.

    Now that’s it Nikolai, I imagine Trotz will counter with Mace.


  4. The Blackhawk game was the game that got Mason out of his funk. Perhaps Trotzy keeps him rolling.



Leave a Reply

