h1

Leafs, Suspensions and Goalies

December 4, 2007

A special note to our friends at the Preds and Fox Sports South:

WHY ON EARTH IS TONIGHT’S GAME NOT ON TV?

Seriously? How often do we play in Toronto? I realize that the Preds TV package doesn’t allow for every game to be shown but there is zero reason why this game is not being shown on TV. Just glancing at the TV schedule I would gladly trade a Thursday evening home game against the Kings in February for a game like tonight. I guess NHL Center ICE needs to be on my Christmas list! Bottom line though…this is so stupid for this game not to be on.

The league has handed down a five game suspension to Predator forward Scott Nichol for his double minor high stick on Patrice Brisebois. This suspension has made me come to this conclusion…Nichol needs to go. Let me be the first to say that there are times that Scott Nichol is an incredible asset to this team. In fact there have been times in the past when I would have called myself a fan. His high energy play and grit is something that is appreciated but it has also been (and is being) a liability to the Preds. I am a fan no more. His ill timed penalties have been discussed here in the past but I am tired of it. He is a repeat offender and this will not be the last time that he sees a suspension. We would be better off trying to deal him or dropping him. I would much rather see a Rich Peverley come up and get some solid time on our fourth line than risk putting Nichol out there. Let some other team enjoy his high energy play and then pay for the ill timed penalty that costs a game or a playoff series.

Who gets the start tonight? Looking at the numbers Dan Ellis is the clear number one. As a co-worker of mine said today “He’s beating Mason in every category.” Ellis is 6-0 with a 2.00 GAA and .929 SV%. Mason is 7-9-4 with a 3.15 and .894 SV%. Ellis is making the case for more playing time and has responded every time he gets the call. My guess is Trotz still believes in Mason and will give him the start tonight but at some point even Trotz has to look at the numbers.

4 comments

  1. Thanks for adding me to your blogroll.
    You have been added to HockeyTownTodd, it was an oversight, because I have linked you in the past with admiration for your header.

    Good Luck in Toronto.

    Looking forward to Sullivan’s return, he is one of my favorites.


  2. Sully is missed here big time. He is a special player who doesn’t get near the recognition that he should.

    We get to see the Wings on Monday…as always it’s always a good game when these tow meet.


  3. I have to agree with you on Nichol Joe. He can be a liability at times. I just don’t understand why the Predators and the local sports media seem surprised by this suspension and the length of it. I think it was totally deserved. He took his stick to the head of an opposing player. I hope he gets some certificates to anger management courses in his stocking this Christmas.


  4. Captain Fanatic says…Better to be pissed off then pissed on, dude!!



Leave a Reply

